Experts 2017

Ted Braun

Writer-director Ted Braun’s critically acclaimed first feature film, Darfur Now, won the 2007 NAACP Image Award for best documentary, was named one of the year’s top five documentaries by the National Board of Review and the Broadcast Critics Association, and earned him the International Documentary Association’s Emerging Filmmaker of the Year. Since then he’s continued […]

Kate Amend

Kate Amend is the editor of two Academy Award Winning Documentary features – Into the Arms of Strangers and The Long Way Home – and is the recipient of the International Documentary Association’s inaugural award for Outstanding Achievement in Editing. Amend also received the 2001 American Cinema Editors’ Eddie award for Into the Arms of Strangers, […]

Claire Aguilar

Claire Aguilar is an award-winning film curator, film festival director and public television commissioning editor and broadcaster, bringing compelling creative documentaries and innovative content to audiences around the world. In 2017 she was appointed Director of Programming & Policy at International Documentary Association (IDA). Claire is the former Director of Programming and Industry Engagement at […]

Tiffany Shlain

Honored by Newsweek as one of the “Women Shaping the 21st Century,” Tiffany Shlain is an Emmy Nominated filmmaker, founder of the Webby Awards, co-founder of The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, and CEO of Let It Ripple film studio. Her films and work have received 80 awards, including a Disruptive Innovation Award […]

Mary Sweeney

Mary Sweeney collaborated with David Lynch for 20 years, beginning with Blue Velvet in 1986. She edited Twin Peaks Television, Twin Peaks Fire Walk With Me, Hotel Room, Lost Highway, The Straight Story and Mulholland Drive, which earned her a British Academy Award for Best Editing. Sweeney wrote the screenplay for The Straight Story for […]